Q&A interview with Lolene..

Lolene is a name many in the blogosphere will be very familiar with so i was pretty eager to hear what all the fuss was about. You can hear a lot about Lolene from the recent introducing post.If you haven’t heard the name, you will! This 25-year-old UK native is EMI’s newest rising artist, and with over 70,000 hits and counting for her single, “Rich (fake It ‘Til you Make It)” on you tube, Lolene has proved she is just getting started and has a long way to go yet.. Yes Believe it the british born beauty is well on her way to stardom! She has been compared to the likes of Lady Gaga which is obviously not a bad thing so i thought it only right to find out much much more about the artist that is Lolene! Id put good odds on Lolene being the next exciting big thing to arrive in the music industry!

Your really are an inspirational person, you‘ve pursed your dreams and it proves that dreams can come true if you work to reach them. I love that! Where do you find your inspiration from?
My inspiration comes from my undeniable love for music and art. I am really inspired by independent females. My mother, Joan Collins, the city of London, Kate Bush, Madonna and Cocktails are some of my inspirations.

You’ve received a lot of support online, Especially bloggers, how does it feel for these people to be supporting your music and giving it positive reviews?
I am so undeniably thankful. I never take one blog or person for granted EVER. I do remember a time not so long ago where nobody knew my music and it was difficult to even get people to hear my work. So to have people supporting me is a dream come true. I just want to continue to bring you guys pop juice and more Lolene candy.

I’m really eager to listen to the The Electrick Hotel. I read about the concept to the album! I loved it! How did you come up with the idea for the concept? & when is it released?
You know the concept came from me viewing my art as a building or destination, meaning you come and check in with me when you press play, it’s metaphorical. I have really had a blast making this album and poured my entire self into it. Due to label changes, leaking issues and the general bullsh*t of the music industry, I have decided to push my album back. However, this is actually a blessing because I make new music almost everyday. I am updating the hotel, we are in renovation mode and you can expect to hear it very soon.

I also read that you named the album before you actually made/wrote any songs? Is this true?
It is true because I am a visual person and wanted to make a concept album that was unlike anything else. At the time I was writing with J.R. Rotem and pop really wasn’t that popular. I wanted to create something colourful, neon and amazing.

I understand you’re signed with J.R. Rotem‘s publishing label, Beluga Heights. How did that come about? That must be a great feeling to be signed to an obvious label who have been very successful this year with the likes of Jason Derulo. This must fill you with confidence for your music?
Signing with such an acclaimed super producer like JR was really a defining moment in my career. But truly it doesn’t matter where you are signed or who with, it’s your art and your music that’s paramount. I’m only as good as my last song, and my next song is always my best song and that’s what I like to focus on.


What I’ve noticed about your music is the fact that
it’s always different, your style is always changing in all your songs. It’s so diverse. Is that a conscious decision from you in a bid to stand out from the rest?
I really like to be a freethinker and a free artist, not confined, conformed or suffocated in any way. I think artists are sometimes brainwashed by labels and their teams to remain consistent, which of course to a degree is important. However, I am inspired by so many different genres of music, I am somewhat of a melting pop, stylistically, racially, vocally and visually. I like to switch it up and keep things cute. And that’s just me being me.

So what’s on the schedule for you in the next few weeks/months? I’ve heard there’s mixtapes, videos, not to mention the singles and album! This must be an incredibly busy time for you as an artist? Are you relishing that aspect of things?
Absolutely and it’s a blessing to be busy. I am creating art everyday. The mixtape is something I can do by myself and is purely about the music, so I have taken various songs that I love which range from the Cranberries, Kate Bush, Dr Dre, Underworld, Abba and Usher – I created something unique, so it’s all a bit of fun and I can’t wait to give it to you guys as a gift. We also just shot an awesome viral video to one of my songs, “Radio”. It was shot at David La Chappelle’s studio in Hollywood with his team, and I’m so excited about sharing this with you. And I’m performing as much as possible.

The downside to music must definitely be the leaks? Does this annoy/disappoint you at all? Cos obviously you must want everything to be perfect before the whole world hears it right?
Of course leaks are frustrating but I really believe that they can also be a blessing and a great way to hear songs that may have never been released. For example Perez Hilton got hold of “Too Young To Die”, a song I wrote for Lindsay Lohan. Therefore, people were able to hear something that would never have been released. It’s just the way of the world right now and so you just have to find your rose in the thorn so to speak, and make it work.

Are you planning on hitting the UK to release your music in the future? (*I hope so*)
I have been planning to hit the UK for sure. My record label has been going through some major changes. But I am coming!

Do you have a little final message to all the Lolene supporters worldwide?
I just want to say that without you guys, all this doesn’t mean anything. You really are my inspiration. When I read you Tweets, Facebook messages and letters I feel so connected to you. I just want to thank you all for your support, love and friendship. GO TEAM LOLENE!

So there we have it, Lolene is here to stay people. I think she’s a breath of fresh air for the industry!! Really do.

Be sure to keep up to date with Lolene’s movements so to speak , follow on twitter @Lolene and on Facebook Lolene!

About jamielkyte

Im 19 Years of Age & Love Love Love Music :)

Posted on September 25, 2010, in Interviews, US Artists.. and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

